Image by Rob Fletcher.

Seafood hotshots revealed

The finalists for the UK’s Seafood Restaurant of the Year Competition have been announced.

Published Last updated

The national award, presented by Seafish and The Caterer, aims to find the best restaurants cooking and serving fish and shellfish, whilst also demonstrating excellent seafood knowledge amongst its staff – both front and back of house.

Following recent mystery dining visits and a further in-depth group judging session, the competition's judging panel have determined their Top 5 restaurants in the 2016 competition, with the eventual national winner to be revealed at a presentation in London on 7 September.

The five finalists are:

  • Ondine, Edinburgh
  • One-O-One, London
  • Rockfish, Brixham, Devon
  • The Jetty, Christchurch, Dorset
  • The Staith House, North Shields, Tyne and Wear

The winner of the competition will receive a bespoke trophy for their restaurant and an individually designed seafood masterclass at Billingsgate Seafood Training School. In addition, three members of the team from the winning restaurant will receive an all-expenses paid study trip to either Brixham or Peterhead to further their knowledge of the catching, processing and supply of seafood.

Andy Gray, trade marketing manager at Seafish, said: "Making it to the Top 5 of Seafood Restaurant of the Year is a great achievement for all of the finalists. It is recognition that they exhibit exceptionally high standards, excelling in providing customers with top quality fish and shellfish dining experiences."

Derek Marshall, chef-owner of Gamba in Glasgow, winner of last year’s inaugural Seafood Restaurant of the Year Competition, said: "It was fantastic to win the competition last year, knowing that we were able to tick all of the judges' boxes.

"You don't know when the judges will come in to the restaurant so the competition keeps you on your toes as you're never sure when you might be getting judged. As the reigning winner, I've thoroughly enjoyed my role as part of the judging panel for this year's competition."